Towards the Deep End

drowningintheshallow

Do we teach for joy and delight? These words from Scott Kretchmar have been ringing in my head since I first heard them on Andy Vasily‘s podcast with him a few weeks ago. Fun and Delight are two human experiences which can be realised through movement. To Kretchmar fun is a shallow and fleeting distraction, a way of overcoming boredom. Delight provides a deeper more memorable experience that keeps people coming back to movement. Rugby was both fun and delightful for me. Fun was what got me into rugby, but it was delight that kept me returning week in and week out for 25 years. Since hanging up my boots I have engaged in many other physical activities that I have found fun, but nothing that offers me the delight that rugby did. My search for it in something else remains elusive. As Kretchmar says delightful experiences…

View original post 650 more words

Leave a Reply

